International Study DayApril 10, 2021

The MiToC Study Day will draw together researchers, students, musicians, and the general public, to collectively explore how mediated music during crisis activates powerful mechanisms of community belonging and heightened senses of personal identity. Register here.  

Keynote Speaker: Noriko Manabe

Noriko Manabe is associate professor of music studies at Temple University. She researches music in social movements and popular music in Japan and the Americas. Her monograph, The Revolution Will Not Be Televised: Protest Music after Fukushima (Oxford), won the John Whitney Hall Book Prize from the Association for Asian Studies, the BFE Book Prize from the British Forum for Ethnomusicology, and Honorable Mention for the Alan Merriam Prize from the Society for Ethnomusicology. Her second monograph, in progress, posits a typology of intertextuality in protest music and the patterns by which these methods are used. She has published articles and chapters on Kendrick Lamar’s “Alright,” music and chants of the Trump resistance, music addressing the atomic bombs in Hiroshima and Nagasaki, and Japanese hip hop. She is editor of 33-1/3 Japan, a book series on Japanese popular music from Bloomsbury Publishing; co-editor of the Oxford Handbook of Protest Music (with Eric Drott); and co-editor of Nuclear Music (with Jessica Schwartz). She serves as Treasurer of the American Musicological Society, as Chair of the Publication Awards Committee for the Society for Music Theory, and as a member of the Finance Committee for the Association for Asian Studies. 

The conference organizers request proposals for 20-minute paper presentations (pre-recorded for the virtual forum). 

Please send a 250 word abstract and a 150 word bio. 

Please send materials to mitoc@carleton.ca by February 1, 2021.

Conference program committee: 
Dr. James Deaville, Dr. James Wright and Dr. Alexis Luko
School for Studies in Art and Culture, Carleton University 

Carleton University acknowledges the location of its campus on the traditional, unceded territories of the Algonquin nation.